This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

8.7 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
8.4
Comfort
7.8
Property location
9.8
Facilities
8.1
Staff
9.2
Value
8.7
Reviews
    Elisabetta
    it
    8.3
    6 February 2018
    The staff was very kind. I arrived at 6 am at the train station and they pick me up (for a reasonable fee) and they allowed me an early check-in to get some rest in my room.
    Charles
    gb
    8.8
    18 November 2017
    Cosy, relaxing place in fantastic location with lovely staff. Just what we needed.
    They offered a western style breakfast that didn't really hit the mark.
    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location was brilliant,dead centre of the historic old town with countless eating places close by. The room was cosy and charming. They took us to and from the station and had an efficient laundry service.
    cn
    7.5
    31 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Beverley
    au
    9.2
    29 October 2017
    Traditional accommodation with very helpful manager.
    If we'd known how busy it would be in Pingyao due to the holidays, we would have booked accommodation at another time.
    The manager was extremely helpful answering all our queries promptly. There was restricted entry into Old Pingyao due to the holidays, he organised for us to be collected at the city wall and taken to the hostel. He also organised a trip to the "Underground Castle", which is well worth visiting. When we were unable to get train tickets from Pingyao to Beijing due the holidays, the manager organised a car transfer to Taiyuan, where we caught the train to Beijing. Breakfast choices limited for Europeans, but the staff cooked us eggs when we asked.
    Ian
    gb
    6.7
    12 August 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Søren
    dk
    8.3
    13 May 2017
    Nice atmosphere. Helpful staff. Quite and clean. Right in the center
    Margaret
    us
    10
    1 May 2017
    A taste of ancient China. So many great museums & food stalls outside the city walls.
    Room faced inside courtyard very quiet, cozy room. Loved the ambience
    Chee Seng
    my
    9.6
    30 April 2017
    Very satisfied
    Too many people
    Historical sites
    Bjørn Erik
    no
    8.3
    25 February 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Lim
    my
    7.5
    28 December 2016
    Good location
    Petra zapa
    fr
    10
    25 December 2016
    Great place, authentic room
    Central location. Traditional huge bed. Very well heated. Staff helpful.
    Julie
    au
    7.9
    16 November 2016
    It was inside the city walls and within easy walk to the tourist attractions
    Kuchic
    cz
    8.8
    14 November 2016
    Weekend family stay in Pingyao
    Air pollution in the city during winter time
    Nice old style hotel Location in city center Decoration
    Bayram
    cn
    8.8
    14 November 2016
    Short family stay in Pingyao
    Western breakfast, try rather Chinese one - porridge, noodles, vegetagles, fruit, very nice. Bad air pollution - especially in the evening. The houses in the city center are heated with coal, so in the winter bring your masks with you or buy in local shops. 3M masks you can get for 3 RMB.
    Location, location, location... right in the heart of the city. Very nice old Chinese style hotel. Friendly staff, understand enough English to deal with all you need. Family run hotel.
    Traveling family if 5
    cn
    9.2
    13 November 2016
    A comfortable stay with welcoming owners
    Nothing.
    This was a really authentic Chinese Inn in a beautiful old town. The owners went out of their way to help us. They didn't speak English but we communicated using Google Translate. The western breakfast was nice and a real effort was made in catering for us.
    Martin
    au
    7.1
    5 November 2016
    Better value at nearby hotels
    Loft rooms are cramped. 'mattress' very hard and uncomfortable. Nearby 'fly-by-knight courtyard hotel' is better value for money.
    Good location on main tourist Street in Pingyao. Helpful staff but no English spoken.
    China novice
    de
    7.5
    4 October 2016
    Central and traditional, but beware of extras!
    The taxi to Pingyao Ancient City train station, 40 Yuan, was arranged by the hotel manager and way beyond the going rate of 30-35 Yuan. The bottled water provided in the hotel room was not for free. Pick-up from Pingyao train station wasn't either (though most other hotels provide this).
    The Chinese breakfast is way better than the Western one. The bed was sturdy, which I think is the Chinese trad. style. The hotel is a converted courtyard typical for Pingyao. Despite being located on busy South Street, it is amazingly quiet once inside.
    Paul
    nl
    8.3
    1 October 2016
    Excellent location and friendly staff. Good price also.
    Room was small. Bath room was very small. I should say the Internet was slow, but it is slow everywhere in China.
    Excellent location! Friendly English speaking staff. Good transfer to and from the hotel! Good bed (for Chinese standards). Good price.
    Ruben
    cn
    10
    17 September 2016
    Excellent.
    Excellent staff! Excellent location! Everything perfect! Best in town. Absolutely.
    C Jiang
    gb
    8.3
    4 August 2016
    Great little place right in the center of Pingyao, cannot get a better location.
    Leak in room. Rooms were a bit small. Walls were paper thin so can hear through to nearby rooms very clearly.
    Nice pleasant staff, very good location, right in the middle of Pingyao, probably the closest hotel/inn to the middle tower. Rooms were decent, relatively clean although one of the rooms had a leak so water was dripping down. Breakfast was simple, however the room was a little dank and dark. Drinks prices were cheaper than shops nearby so stock up here.
Loading reviews